Cooking Burns HOW Many Calories?

English: Container of Kitchen Utensils
Image via Wikipedia

Spent 3+ hours doing food prep yesterday for the birthday party of an 80-year-old man from my church.  And when I entered my activity into my counter, it told me that “Cooking or Food Preparation – Standing or Sitting or In General, Manual Appliance” burned 635 calories!  Can they be serious?  If so…I think I’m just going to spend the rest of my month cooking (not eating, though, else the calories burned would be, well, “waisted” ;)).  I mean, sure…I was at it for 3 hours, but, REALLY?  635 calories from standing and walking around only a little bit, bumping into the other women, washing grapes, stirring things in pots…635 calories?  Sign me up for food prep for the next party!

Update on my Bike:

It’s still in pieces.  We removed it from the box on Thursday, but discovered we didn’t know how to put it back together.  SO, we’re planning to take it to a friend’s today (the one that took it apart, actually) and get him to do it!  Can’t wait to ride my own bike again!

Have you ever been surprised by the number of calories burned by a given activity?

One thought on “Cooking Burns HOW Many Calories?

Leave a Reply

