Actions Step #5 for 2013–Using Music to Destress

Music guitar
(Photo credit: @Doug88888)

Last week was a good reminder that stress management is a huge need in my life.  My computer wasn’t working properly.  And then the internet provider told us that, yes, our service was running slow but they weren’t sure if they would have the problem solved for another few months!  And then, all week-long, many other “if it can happens” did happen.  Yay.  So, stress management because the focus for Action #5.

Step #5–Use Music to Destress on a Regular Basis

 Of course, one of the sources of my stress was the fact that I did not have the ability to listen to music.  So, my first step is making sure that I have multiple avenues for listening to my favorite music.  Computer, smartphone, CDs (gasp!  Yes…I still use a CD player), mp3s that work on my other player…Lots of options are needed, as I discovered, since three of my sources weren’t working all at once.

The next step in #5 is put together the perfect playlists for my various life situations, tasks, etc.  A work playlist filled with relaxing and fun tunes that will keep me focused and cheerful.  A workout playlist that includes more variety than I’ve been working with for the last year.  A fun, down-time playlist with all my favorites in all genres.

And the actual action step: to simply enjoy music for at least an hour a day.  Whether that includes practicing guitar and singing or just listening–doesn’t matter.  Just chill for an hour a day, with music.  Best source of stress relief for me.

 

2 thoughts on “Actions Step #5 for 2013–Using Music to Destress

  1. Fantastic blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.

    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many options out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any tips? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

