Action Step #29–Expand My Dietary Horizons

Saffron Chicken (827857596)
Saffron Chicken (827857596) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I love variety.  I really do.  But I’m a little lazy when it comes to cooking.  So, it’s time to expand my dietary horizons.  Instead of making the same 10-15 dishes every couple of weeks, I need to look around and include more options.  So, here’s the plan:

  1. Go to Pinterest and actually MAKE some of those “interesting recipes I’m going to have to try sometime”
  2. Experiment more with my standard “on hand” ingredients
  3. Look on other random websites for recipes to try
  4. Take old family recipes and tweak for my grain-free lifestyle  (there are noodles made of beans, for example–I could have lasagna!)
  5. Include flavored waters in my meal plans to add to the flavors of meals
  6. Keep a recipe book (or board) of things I try and really like so that I’ve got more variety than just what I’ve already made
  7. Add one new “standard ingredient” to my cupboards every couple of months
  8. When I go to eat, try new restaurants or new items on the menu if I repeat the same restaurant
  9. Hold dinner parties
  10. Make enough of each recipe to have leftovers for at least one other meal that week (helps with a busy schedule!)

That should help.

Leave a Reply

