Action Step #30–Rid My Life of Clutter

Clutter
Clutter (Photo credit: telwink)

 

They say that a cluttered life is a stressed life.  Or something like that.  And I do have to agree.  Having too much stuff makes me feel tense.  I hate having stuff spilling out all over the place.  Don’t get me wrong: I love my books, heirloom china, having more than 5 outfits to wear and all of my many, many costumes, but…there is a line.  And I crossed it a long time ago.  So, it’s time to retrace those steps and de-clutter.

 

As I pack up my entire life for moving to another city (probably another state), I need to go through all of my possessions and eliminate excess.  I have already rid my life of tons of stuff, but I need to rid my life of more.  I may need to light some scented candles and have beautiful music playing to do it, but it’s time.  I don’t want to have to move all of that junk anyway, right?

 

I’ll ask myself these questions to decide what to hold onto and what to get rid of:

 

  • Do I (would I once I have a place of my own) use this often?
  • If I don’t, is it something I love that cannot be replaced?
  • Am I keeping this because I feel obligated to?
  • Do I think I should love this, but don’t actually?
  • Is this a “just in case” item?
  • Do I have multiples of this item?
  • Will I ever actually read this book again?
  • Is this resource book still relevant for the types of writing I do now?
  • Would someone else benefit more from owning this?
  • Do I really want to move this to my new home?
  • Will this fit in a small 1-2 bedroom apartment/townhouse?
  • Does this still fit?
  • Will I ever wear this again?
  • If I won’t, is this sentimental t-shirt something I will ever actually use for a craft project of some kind?
  • If it got damaged in storage, can it be repaired/cleaned well enough to use again?

 

Leave a Reply

