Action Step #31—Try Some Aroma Therapy

Aromatherapy Essential Oils ~ Natural Perfume ...
Aromatherapy Essential Oils ~ Natural Perfume Absolute Oils ~ Beauty Skin Care (Photo credit: Naomi King)

 

 

 

I have lived a very stressful life of late.  Every area of my life has changed in the last 7 months, and more change is coming.  I’ve lost my dreams.  I’ve lived in 4 different places (including another country) in the last 7 months (and about to move away from my childhood home at the end of the month).  I’ve begun and ended my first romantic relationship.  I’ve had to change my entire career path.  I’ve had 4 months of insanity with a production I’ve been directing (started as a stage play, performance dates got changed twice, then became a film project instead).  Any one of those things is big.  But stacking all of them on top of each other is a lot more than I can handle, admittedly.

 

So, it’s time to come up with some more stress relief.  I already have included music into my life.  Upbeat, fun stuff.  None of that depressing, sad stuff.  Life is already naturally a downer some days.

 

But it’s time to add some other environmental relaxers.  So, I’m going to try some aroma therapy.  Here’s what I’ll do (yeah, yeah…I know they’re not really aroma therapy, but they’re what I can and will do…)

 

  • Scented candles
  • Scented oil warmers (I like the Febreeze ones, since they are not just odor maskers)
  • Baking delicious things that smell fantastic
  • Essential oils on my skin—going with peppermint, lemon, lavender (allergic to vanilla, so not that one!)

 

That should do it.  More than that might be too much anyway.

 

Leave a Reply

