My Theme for the Year

Behold, I make all things new
“Behold, I make all things new…”

An article I read made some suggestions for the new year in regards to fitness and health goals/plans, etc.  And while I don’t plan to use all the things, I thought I’d start the process.  Step 1, at least, is a good thing to do: Choose your theme for the year.  They encourage you to choose an area of life that you want to see improved, and base your theme upon that main concept.  (If you want to know more, the article is found here.)

My theme is easy.  I took all of 3 seconds to come up with it: “All Things New.”

It may seem a bit ironic to choose this for my theme this year, which started with my move to a new city, involving a search for a new career, new relationships, new, well, everything.  But the reality is, all things are rather new for me, and that’s a good thing.

The Biblical concept of “all things new” refers to a new creation in Christ (II Corinthians 5:17)–a new being by salvation through God in Christ.  For those who don’t care about God, this probably seems like a stupid thing or a lame crutch for those looking for hope.  That’s a different discussion.  Today my point is this: we all need clean slates sometimes.  When life has overwhelmed you, been horrendously painful or just plain confusing for a long time, we often just need to get a new start.  And that’s what this year is for me.  A new year, sure, always feels a little like this, but for me, I literally started the new year in a new city, with new goals, new life circumstances, etc., and that’s pretty incredible.  So, I’m embracing the new and looking for the changes to not only be positive (emotionally healthier), but better (growth, change and maturing).

I have no idea what this year will hold, but that’s kind of exciting.  At least, I’m choosing to look at it that way.  All things new…yes.  A good thing.

What’s your theme for the year?

Leave a Reply

