Weekly Challenge #4–Discover My Gear

Snowstorm in Chicago
Snowstorm in Chicago–this looks like my street did the other week

It just keeps snowing.  And snowing.  And thawing.  And turning to ice.  And snowing…  Welcome to Chicago.

This Florida girl hasn’t got a clue on how to run outside in this weather.  So, I guess that means it’s time to suck it up and figure things out with my gear for running outdoors.  (All tips welcome!)  What to wear, how to wear things that I’ve got (scarves, gloves, tights, etc.), and so on and so forth.

So, this week’s challenge is for me to discover my gear.  Do some research, read some articles, and do some “window shopping” online for that time when I’ve got the dough for some new gear (being in the search of a job currently, it’s been to save the money I’ve got for things like, well, rent and food…).

Bonus challenge: And since this isn’t a physical challenge of any kind, I thought I’d double up this week, and I’ve got the goal of being able to run up 4 flights of stairs without stopping (and without being winded/heart-racing badly when I get there), that’ll be the fitness aspect of the weekly challenge.  Let’s see how I go!

2 thoughts on “Weekly Challenge #4–Discover My Gear

  1. Ouch, all that snow and ice sounds horrible to run in…but it’s awesome how determined you are to do it! I live in California and it’s pretty mild here so I don’t have to deal with extreme conditions while running, but I subscribe to a woman on YouTube who lives in Chicago and she is an avid runner (username: myhousewifelife and organizedlikejen)…she wears Lulu Lemon running tights, usually a long sleeve shirt, a running vest, and her jacket, then she wears running gloves, a scarf, and a cozy headband.

    Here’s a link a post on winter running gear that seems helpful…http://blog.lululemon.com/how-to-layer-for-winter-running/

    good luck!

Leave a Reply

