Rita’s Latest Recipe: Great Northern Bean Hash

Personally, I love hash-browns…oh, so much!  But no longer eating potatoes kind of prevents me from enjoying them.  I’ve been looking for a recipe that really does it for me and meets my “acceptable” ingredients list.  And yesterday I randomly came up with this recipe.  It’s pretty easy and the closest thing I’ve come to finding tastes a bit like potatoes.  Enjoy!

Great Northern Bean Hash topped with BBQ sauce & sour cream, served with Italian sausage
Great Northern Bean Hash topped with BBQ sauce & sour cream, served with Italian sausage

Ingredients:

1.5 cups dried Great Northern beans
3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese
2 large eggs
cumin
minced onion
garlic
chilli powder
(extra virgin olive oil)

Soak and prepare Great Northern beans until soft.  Then chop or mash the beans (I used a hand food chopper).  Mix in the eggs and cheese and seasoning (to taste), then simply fry up in olive oil the way you would hash-browns.

Top with sour cream, salsa, BBQ sauce, tomatoes, sautéed onions/mushrooms, extra cheese or anything else you might put on hash-browns.

Leave a Reply

