Weekly Challenge #9–Drink More Water

Image courtesy of Paul / FreeDigitalPhotos.net
Image courtesy of Paul / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I rather feel as though this one is self-explanatory, but I’ll add some additional info that might be useful, too, like how to calculate how much water you need to drink daily on a regular basis.

I aim for 130 oz. water (caffeine-free beverages) daily on my rest days.  On days I workout, I add another 15 oz. of water for every 30 minutes of working out.  (Unless you drink something like 4 or 5 gallons all at once/in day, you cannot drink too much water.  But do be aware of how close to meals you drink water.  Too much near your meal/snack times will flush out the nutrients from your system and can cause damage.)

But you might like a calculator to help you out on deciding how much you need.  This calculator is one of the better ones I’ve seen, though I still add several more ounces because of the amount of sodium and GMO’s in our food these days.  If you don’t watch your sodium intake, I suggest adding another 30 oz. water daily to flush out the sodium you aren’t aware that you’re consuming.  If you do watch your intake, I’d suggest at least an additional 16 ounces beyond what they suggest.  Unless you’re over-drinking water, it won’t hurt you, and will help your overall health and may help you lose  weight (or at least keep away some of the bloat).  Just answer the simple questions on the site, and there you go.

Leave a Reply

