A Hidden Benefit of Running

For the last year of my life, I’ve been nannying for a family that has, apparently, the same immune system type as I.  ‘Cuz we’ve been passing a nasty bug back and forth for months now.  This is not the first time it’s happened, either.  Thankfully, that job has ended, and now there’s hope we can all shed this bug for good!

I didn’t even realize how badly I was still fighting this ugly thing until Saturday when I went running for the first since initially coming down with this thing.  I could barely do the 5k, and at least half of it was walking, because I couldn’t breathe.  I haven’t had issues with breathing while I run in years!

And then the coughing started.  I haven’t coughed in weeks.  Oh.  It hit me.  The virus is still alive and kicking.

Over the years, I’ve learned, both by experience and stories, that running is an excellent expectorant for viruses.  Run, cough, lean over wheezing.  Repeat.  At least a dozen times.  And, hey.  I feel better!

So, it might sound like weird advice, but if you’re able, and you’ve got a bug that hangs on, go start to get rid of it through running!  (Biking can also help.)

running

Leave a Reply

