Week #4 Goal: Design Training Program for Machu Picchu Using My Environment

Since not everyone is going to go hike Machu Picchu with me, making my specific training program unnecessary, I thought I’d share my process of planning.  This way anyone reading can work at designing their program for whatever their next big goal is.

Once you’ve chosen your goal/target, you have a lot of things to consider.  It could become overwhelming if you want to plan your own training, but breaking down the elements and areas of concern, etc. into short lists can help you determine what’s needed, and how often you have to train and for how long.  Here’s how I broke this up.

I. Elements/terrain type(s) to consider:

  1. Elevation increase (mountain)
  2. Uneven/unpaved ground (hiking)
  3. Endurance (lengthy distances)
  4. Hot temperatures

II. Disadvantages in my local surroundings:

  1. Flat urban location
  2. Nearly all paved paths
  3. Life gets in the way of training!

III. Suggestions to Beat Disadvantages:

  1. Contact skyscrapers to seek permission for climbing their stairwells
  2. Map out natural or dirt trails I can access easily
  3. Set specific deadlines for training
  4. Set specific training “dates” with myself (3-6 days per week)
  5. Set occasional/special training dates at distinct locations I must travel to for training (inc. skyscrapers, hiking trails in nearby state parks, etc.)
  6. Update accountability partner on training

IV. Equipment required:

  1. hiking shoes/boots
  2. hiking socks
  3. light-weight, reusable water bottles
  4. day pack
  5. sunblock
  6. hidden wallet (for actual hike)
  7. sunglasses
  8. hat with brim/visor
  9. amoeba-killing water purification system

Research required:

  1. Exact elevation/number of stairs
  2. Actual distance of all hike(s) included in excursion
  3. Actual cost of all equipment required
  4. Actual cost of all travel/tour/entry fee(s)/lodging required
  5. Any dates off-limits (closed location, closed tour guides, etc.)
  6. Needed nutritional adjustments for this training

Now, I’m ready to begin the next phase: the actual program design.

Steps to take now:

  1. Do required research
  2. Design program based upon
    1. distances, elevations, etc.,
    2. including knowledge of my own current training level,
    3. knowledge of my history in training adaptations,
    4. my current committed activities (such as Krav Maga, running and weight training that I already do)
    5. and my personal and work schedule
  3. Purchase necessary equipment for training
  4. Begin initial training (3x weekly)
  5. Contact/research locations for training for permissions
  6. Adjust nutrition
  7. Continue training (3-6x weekly)
  8. Re-adjust nutrition
  9. Purchase remaining equipment for hike
stair running
Using my environment

 

 

Leave a Reply

